JOIN TRAD GANG

INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

CLICK HERE TO LEAP TO THE
2017 ST. JUDE AUCTION FORUMS

Trad Gang.com Post New Topic  Post A Reply
MY PROFILE | directory login | register | search | FAQ | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Trad Gang.com » Main Forums » Hunting Knives and Crafters » First forged knife - Work in progress

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: First forged knife - Work in progress
Rathbuck
Contributor 2017
Member # 22620

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Rathbuck   Author's Homepage   Email Rathbuck   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
First off - total newbie to this craft. I've always been fascinated by knifemaking, and always wanted to get give it a try. I started about 6 months ago by purchasing bar stock and doing removal.

I won't share the first few attempts, as they were pretty rough...LOL.

Had a fun time with it, though, so went further and now have a homemade forge, belt sander, and old section of railroad track that my great-grandfather used to use.

For my first attempt, took a piece of steel from an old plow off the family farm. No idea of the makeup, but since this is practice, didn't worry too much.

Original bar of steel - this is after I cut off the hammered out blade - sanded it clean, then heated and hammered.

-

--------------------
"Lungs are guts. You can quote me on that." - Gene Wensel

Posts: 219 | From: Michigan | Registered: Jan 2010  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Rathbuck
Contributor 2017
Member # 22620

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Rathbuck   Author's Homepage   Email Rathbuck   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I didn't take a picture of the hammered out blade...I guess I was too excited and went straight to the belt sander. Won't make that mistake again.

After the first rough sanding:
 -

--------------------