3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: New Bear Montana. Need advice on arrows  (Read 303 times)

Offline PennDude

• Trad Bowhunter
New Bear Montana. Need advice on arrows
« on: December 25, 2015, 08:22:00 AM »
My beautiful and thoughtful wife got me a Bear Montana for Christmas.  I am truly blessed.  I am a novice when it comes to tuning and proper arrow spine and I want to do things the right way and get great arrow flight.  

The bow is 50# at 28" and I draw at 26 3/4" (Just measured that and I can't believe it's so short with me being 5' 10", but oh well).  I'm flexible with point weight because I don't have any money invested in broadheads yet.  

I attempted to use the spine calculator from 3 rivers but I'm getting some sort of error for the arrow input.  It's calculating 0.00.  The dynamic spine for the bow is 48.7.  

The arrows I'd like to buy are Gold Tip traditional.  I think I'm in between spines for the 1535 and 3555.  I really don't have the $ to buy both and see which fly better.  I will probably want to keep my point weight around 125-150.

Offline Possum Head

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: New Bear Montana. Need advice on arrows
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2015, 08:32:00 AM »
35-55 should do nicely. Start full length with 150 gr tip.

Offline 9 Shocks

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2015, 11:09:00 PM »
I think you will find the 1535 to be a better arrow but thats just me.  Full length with 3555's with 150 grain point may be stiff.  Montanas have a small shelf and I dont believe they are cut to center. could be wrong.  I imagine a 30" or 29.5" 1535 with 150 grain point might do better for you being that you are probably getting around 46lbs out of the bow.