3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: air travel with one-piece bows  (Read 547 times)

Offline knobby

• Trad Bowhunter
air travel with one-piece bows
« on: February 18, 2016, 08:20:00 PM »
I've been shooting takedown bows almost exclusively for many years. I like the mass weight in the risers, but mostly they're just easier to travel with, especially on a plane. My arrows and bow fit nicely inside a takedown shotgun case that has served me well.
   But I would like to be able to own/travel with some of the beautiful one-piece longbows and recurves that are available. My favorite bow of all-time is a rosewood Howatt Super Diablo, but I've never owned one due to the air travel issues I'd expect to encounter.
   Obviously, lots of you have traveled with one-piece bows, so how do you protect them from the baggage handlers? Any extra fees involved?
   Thanks!

Online Jim Wright

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: air travel with one-piece bows
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2016, 09:35:00 PM »
Fees (or the lack of them with Southwest unless things have changed) will be dependent on the Airline you use, you can go on the web site and find out their regulations. I suspect whichever Airline you choose will require your bow/container to be checked-on luggage. There are probably commercially made one pc. recurve carriers. In lieu of one, a proper diameter length of PVC pipe would probably suffice as well, sewer vent pipe is the lightest.

« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2016, 09:43:00 PM »
The one time I flew with one pc bows, I made a PVC bow case, and it worked just fine. There were not any fees then, but that was in 2008.

Bisch

Offline Steve Kendrot

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2016, 10:04:00 PM »