3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Crazy Broadhead Question  (Read 501 times)

Offline Basstar

• Trad Bowhunter
Crazy Broadhead Question
« on: February 22, 2016, 07:36:00 AM »
As a newly returning traditional bowhunter of course I am studying and trying to learn all I can both for my own benefit but also to be the most ethical hunter I can be.

I have some 3 blade VPA heads as well as some Zwickey Eskilite 2 blade heads.

I keep reading more though about using a two blade single bevel head as a better choice.

So.......should I reconsider the 3 blade VPA heads and or/ should I consider filing the Zwickey heads down to a single bevel edge, or consider a different head altogether?

"OR" am I simply being to anal and OCD and overthinking this whole thing?  (Which I admittedly do from time to time.)

I am drawing approximately 41 pounds using a 400 grain arrow and will be shooting nothing larger than a whitetail "unless" I were to get drawn for our state elk quota hunt.

Thanks so much and I truly appreciate the help and input.

Offline BWallace10327

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Crazy Broadhead Question
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2016, 07:52:00 AM »
You're right, this is a crazy question; lots of variables.  Both broadheads are great, I killed a turkey and a muley doe in 2014 with a Zwickey Eskimo and a muley doe in 2015 with a Wensel Woodsman (similar to a VPA 3-blade).  Both heads were 200 grains and they were shot from bows that I draw to about 54#.  All pass through shots, all short <45 yard blood trails.  Seems like you've got enough for a deer, if you hit where you're looking heart/lung area, but I think you might be a little under-bowed for elk. Good luck.
***$ Brent Wallace $***
NRA Life Time Member