3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: 2016 LH experiment  (Read 774 times)

Offline Paul Cousineau

• Trad Bowhunter
2016 LH experiment
« on: March 02, 2016, 09:49:00 PM »
Last week I ordered a cheap, light weight, left handed production bow. I'm one of those very strange right handed, left eye dominant people. when I was starting out in archery as a kid no one bothered to check me for eye dominance and all the family hand me down bows(recurves and compounds) where right handed.

When I was a freshman in college I decided to get back into trad bow hunting. I bought a left handed bear grizzly on ****. I thought learning to shoot left hand would be better in the long run. It makes sense that it would be more natural to point/aim a bow with the arrow aligned with the master eye. It was a lot harder than i thought to learn good form. Some where In the midst of the struggle, I caved to the old "when shooting instinctively, it matters not which eye is dominant" mentality without really giving it a fair shot. I gave up after a few hundred shots.

My shooting has always been good with right handed bows. I try to keep my hunting shots to 20 yards or less. I would like to be able to get better at longer ranges, 30-40. I'm just wanting to try to improve to a next level.

I have committed to only shooting left handed for the next four months. I figure around July I'll need to start getting serious about practicing with whatever bow i'll be hunting with. I took a few shots yesterday and it looks like it's going to be tough sledding for a little while.     :laughing:    I would really appreciate any input or tips from those of you who have made the switch. Wish me luck.