3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Arrow tuning - what about back in the 60's and 70's?  (Read 815 times)

Offline WhitetailHtr

• Trad Bowhunter
Arrow tuning - what about back in the 60's and 70's?
« on: March 04, 2016, 08:11:00 AM »
So, I started shooting about 1970 and I remember that buying arrows was a lot less scientific.  Namely, buying a dozen Bear arrows in a box that was the correct spine (50-55#, etc.) and length (full inches).  Hunting arrows with broad heads already mounted, glued on.  I can still picture a wall of a shop with boxes lined up, or on shelves.

I know Herter's sold arrows this way as well, as did other archery companies, I'm sure.

So, why was this adequate for guys to kill game back then, and now we are obsessed with tuning arrows to the 1/4" in length, super specific grain weights, and concerned about FOC and a host of other technical aspects?   :confused:

Just curious here.  Seems like sometimes we make this way too difficult.  Any insight?
1987 Brackenbury Drifter 60#

Offline Biathlonman

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Arrow tuning - what about back in the 60's and 70's?
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2016, 08:15:00 AM »
That's before my time, but I'd imagine that there was also a lot less choices in bow srtles, weights and string materials back then.  When every body was shooting a #45 Bear with B50 string you didn't need many choices.  Now you've still got a guy shooting that Bear and another guy shooting a super fast bow with carbon, weight down to the pound he wants and ultra light skinny string.

Offline Cavscout9753

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2016, 08:35:00 AM »