3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: String trackers  (Read 1211 times)

Offline Buckeye1977

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
String trackers
« on: March 08, 2016, 10:08:00 AM »
I am new to tradgang and just wanted to say that this is a great site! My question is on string trackers. I've read curt Cabrera's article on setting them up and read many stories where people have used them but was wondering what everyone's opinions on them were? Pros and cons. Thanks Nick
Nick

PBS Associate member
JD Berry Viper 62” 50@28

Offline DanielB89

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: String trackers
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2016, 10:22:00 AM »
Nick,

I think you'll find a wide variety of answers here, but, in my opinion, it all boils down to how you hunt and what you hunt.  For instance, if you are a spot and stalk guy, a string tracker isn't really an option.  If you're a guy who hunts from a blind/strand all the time, it wouldn't be a problem.  

It also depends on what you're hunting.  for instance, hunting animals that have low success rates with less due to minimal blood being lost after the shot(turkey or hog), I would be more inclined to use one of them.   I have not had much luck with turkeys, but I have had a decent amount of contact with hogs.  Even when you shoot them in the right place with a big rifle, it doesn't guarantee a good blood trail.  

With something like a whitetail, I don't think they're as necessary, but I do believe they have a lot of added GOOD qualities about them.  

Sorry for throwing the kitchen sink at you.  

If you're wanting to try one out, check out chad Orde's.  He makes some beauts!
"Blessed is the man who trusts in the LORD And whose trust is the LORD. Jeremiah 17:7

"There is a way which seems right to a man,