3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: CX 250... HOW CAN THIS BE?  (Read 607 times)

Offline Flatshooter

• Trad Bowhunter
CX 250... HOW CAN THIS BE?
« on: April 12, 2016, 10:47:00 AM »
OK,  been experimenting with bare shaft tuning over the past several weeks. I shoot a 50# @ 28" recurve which is cut to center. My draw is 28" This morning I started playing with a CX 250 and ultimately got it down to 30" with  a 125 grn field point and it is flying great out to 20yds with a slight nock left. I am consistently hitting an 8" pie plate at that distance with, as I said, a slight nock left. I do notice that if I do not come to full draw the arrow flies a little nock high but still settles down into the 8" pie plate. At full draw with a good release she flies great! HOW CAN THIS BE? By all accounts that I have read, 250's should be way too stiff for my setup. Can anyone explain this to me?

Offline DanielB89

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: CX 250... HOW CAN THIS BE?
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2016, 11:04:00 AM »
here is your answer.. or at least what i experienced

http://tradgang.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=1;t=148445#000000
"Blessed is the man who trusts in the LORD And whose trust is the LORD. Jeremiah 17:7

"There is a way which seems right to a man,
But its end is the way of death."  Proverbs 14:12

Offline Hankem

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2016, 11:16:00 AM »
Too stiff.... you are probably kicking off the shelf and getting a false reading....

How far the shelf is cut to center will effect your spine way more than tip weight.... the longer the shaft, and the longer your draw length is, the more tip weight will effect your spine.