3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: R/D Longbow with high brace height  (Read 678 times)

Offline Jarrod Reno

• Trad Bowhunter
R/D Longbow with high brace height
« on: April 25, 2016, 11:31:00 PM »
Hey folks. I hope this isn't an annoying set of questions.

I've searched around like crazy and I understand that the variables are pretty much everything under the sun... bow, string, silencers, arrow, etc. So I may be spinning my wheels with this one.

Ive been shooting a Caribow Peregrine for the last 8 months or so, and a Featherhorn before that. Abe says a good BH is 7 1/4" but with both of these bows Im well over 8" to get the "least" amount of vibration. I've shot arrows ranging from 500gr to 700gr and spent days with each setup tuning... Currently I've landed on a 560gr arrow which flys awesome. SBD 8 strand string.

My first pointed question is this... My draw length is solid 31" with a measured draw weight of 63#. Is there a correlation between draw length and BH? Meaning, since I draw long, the bow will like a higher BH?

Second is this "The Peregrine boasts speed of over 200 ft. per sec. A.M.O. at a brace height of 7 1/4″.  All this with a silky smooth draw up to 30″.  The Peregrine is dead in the hand, even with light arrows such as 9 or less grains per lb."

Dead in the hand. For the life of me I can't get rid of hand shock, at any BH, even with a tuned 700gr grizzly stik.

Any ideas?
Family man
Colorado & Montana

Offline acedoc

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: R/D Longbow with high brace height
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2016, 02:43:00 AM »
I shoot a trinity longbow falcon at a highish brace of around 8 inches. Dl 32 inches - only time I got distracted by noise or vibration was when the sting untwisted and bh went to 5 inches.
Toelke SS recurve