3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Help! Considering a wheelie!  (Read 438 times)

Offline tradhunterRN

• Trad Bowhunter
Help! Considering a wheelie!
« on: April 29, 2016, 08:52:00 AM »
Ok guys, I will try to keep this brief but I have a lot of thoughts nagging me about this.

Started hunting at 21 (am 26 now) so completely self-taught, trial and error, lots of research. Never had anyone to model good woodsmanship. Getting to within 20 yards of a deer has been problematic so far, because I simply don't have the skills tuned yet. I have seen plenty of trad guys who consistently get closish but not quite close enough to feel comfortable for their shot so with my encounter rate being way lower than a lot of hunters that means even less chance of me making a harvest.

In my current situation (married, 2 small children, graduate student) my hunting time is limited so there aren't a lot of opportunities to improve and also not a significant amount of time to dedicate to shooting, tuning my bow and arrows, etc.

The other issue is consistency. I can only practice at home at 10 yards because I live in town and have to shoot in my basement. At that range I can shoot 1 inch groups at times and then other days I am all over the board. So the inconsistency kills my confidence if a shot does present itself.

I am starting to think about adding a compound to the collection of weapons to "increase my chance of success" when I do get an encounter. I feel I may have a better shot at harvesting a deer if I can drive nails at 40 yards. I also am planning on out of state hunting in the next few years and again, I don't want to spend all that time, energy and money into a hunt that will be blown because I cannot take a shot due to limited range.