3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Buy bare shafts?  (Read 1129 times)

Offline Simba

• Trad Bowhunter
Buy bare shafts?
« on: May 26, 2016, 03:55:00 PM »
I have $100 gift card to spend at 3rivers. I have been using their hunters arrows in my setup the past year and are very used to them. However, I want to bareshaft tune to prepare for archery season in August. I have glued my own points and nocks before but I have no experience glueing/removing fletchings. I do own a fletching jig and duco. Am I better off buying the fully built hunters arrows and removing fletchings from a few of them to bare shaft tune. Or, should I buy the pre-finished 3rivers shafts (same as used in their hunters arrows) and all the other components and put arrows together except the ones I keep bareshaft to tune with? Does it make a difference? Should I just go with whichever is cheaper? Can you screw up a lot when glueing feathers on?

Offline Flatshooter

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Buy bare shafts?
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2016, 04:21:00 PM »
If you already have a fletching jig buy the bare shafts and some right or left wing feathers (whichever you prefer). Just be sure your fletching jig matches whatever feathers you choose(Right wing/left wing). You can easily remove feathers with a knife or tool designed to do the same job. 3 Rivers sells that tool. Use the fletching tape which is much easier and far less messy than glue. Not rocket science at all. Best of luck!

Offline SELFBOW19953

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2016, 04:23:00 PM »