3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Three piece bow takedown question.  (Read 661 times)

Offline fireball31

• Trad Bowhunter
Three piece bow takedown question.
« on: June 22, 2016, 06:50:00 PM »
Ok. I am a total noob to the three piece bow game. I shoot Hill style longbows all of the time but I am in a bit of a conundrum. I have locked up permission for some property in a very urban setting, I have also been scouring my plat books and have found several totally unused pieces of public property that are in an urban setting. I will need to ride a bike several miles to access the public land and will pass many people out walking, hiking, and biking. I am trying to be as covert as is humanly possible both to avoid drawing undue scrutiny from people who don't agree with hunting, and to avoid broadcasting that there are hunting opportunities. I'm serious when I say that there is nobody hunting these whitetails right now. They are growing big based on eating peoples landscaping and gardens.

This is forcing me to look at three piece bows. I looked for quite a while at the multitude of three piece bolt on limb longbows that are available. I really like the Northern Mist whitbeck, and the pronghorn's. The issue is that apparently these bows are not meant to be taken down every time aren't shooting them. This bow will be taken apart every time I get out of a tree and put back together every time I stash my bike. Legitmately 100 times a season besides just normal shooting and practice. If I'm wrong about that, correct me and I will end up going that direction.