3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Hill Bow Shelf Wear?  (Read 845 times)

Offline Cryogenic

• Trad Bowhunter
Hill Bow Shelf Wear?
« on: July 11, 2016, 11:25:00 PM »
I have a Wesley Special 68in 45#, purchased in December.  I have been working to tune it for several months.  No luck.  It shoots ok, but the arrows tend to fishtail and the strike plate wears towards the rear after only a handful of arrows.

I've used 500 and 600 spines in lengths from 28 to 30 inches with anywhere from 100 to 275 up front.  There are changes as I approach the extremes of that range, but overall no luck.  Bare shaft always kicks tail left.  I cannot use arrows crested with paint because the paint wears off very quickly.

Here's a picture of how the arrow sits on the shelf.  The wear is exactly where the arrow rests against the shelf (which is where the white cap ends).  My other bow seems to rest more in the middle.

So here's the question:  Do I need to remove shelf material, or is this normal?  My other HHA bow (Tembo) has the arrow contact about the shelf's middle at rest, and the arrows shoot perfectly.

Thank you all!

Re: Hill Bow Shelf Wear?
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2016, 11:29:00 PM »
When the bow is strung is the string running perfectly down the center of the grip?

Offline monterey

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2016, 11:49:00 PM »
What is the brace height?
Monterey

"I didn't say all that stuff". - Confucius........and Yogi Berra

Offline Cryogenic

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2016, 10:34:00 AM »
race height has been between 6 and 7 inches.  No change as the brace height changes.  The picture is at 7, I believe.