3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Nock high bare shaft tuning  (Read 375 times)

Online TIM B

• Trad Bowhunter
Nock high bare shaft tuning
« on: July 31, 2016, 07:18:00 PM »
Bear grizzly 55lb
Shooting Easton 400's full length w 250 up front and 550 total wt.  arrow goes in straight aside from nock high.  I've raised the nock point as high as 7/8 and have increased the brace ht as well.   Thought I'd ask the pros....any suggestions?
Thanks
Tim B

Online Flingblade

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Nock high bare shaft tuning
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2016, 07:32:00 PM »
I'm no pro but for nock high you want to lower the nocking point.  Lower it 1/8" at a time till it flies straight.  More important with bare shafting is where the arrows are hitting compared to fletched shafts.  For fine tuning nock location I have had better luck paper tuning with fletched shafts.

Offline Shadowhnter

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2016, 08:25:00 PM »
If you've moved it up and down to the extent and still flies high, its very likely your release. I know folks dont like hearing that, but there ya go.

« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2016, 08:40:00 PM »
Gravity (heavy tip) will make a bare shaft fly tail up.

Impact of bare shafts and arrows is how I've tuned for years.  I don't pay any attention to nock left, right, up or down.  I'm only concerned that bare shafts impact with arrows.

I start at 10 yards and shoot 2 bare shafts and 2 arrows.  I get immediate feedback, make adjustments as needed and do it again.  Then, move back a few yards and start all over.  By the time I get to 25 yards my arrows fly better than I can shoot them.

Interesting that there's three threads about bare shaft tuning on the front page.

Offline katman