3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: A little Help Please and Thank You.  (Read 387 times)

Offline H.D. Luers

• Trad Bowhunter
A little Help Please and Thank You.
« on: August 03, 2016, 09:57:00 PM »
Hi. I'm new to trad archery and am getting bad fishtailing that I can't get rid of. I know some fishtailing is normal. My bow is a recurve. 50 lbs and my draw is 27. I'm trying Gold Tip 3555/500 with 125 tips and feathers. I've looked at the Easton guide. I don't think I'm under spined, but sure might be. I've tried both off the shelf and with a Muzzy v rest, the only thing I couldn't throw at this was going up in weight at the front end because I didn't have any thing. So that's what is going on. I sure would appreciate it if someone could please help me figure this out. Thank you kindly.

Offline CRM_95

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: A little Help Please and Thank You.
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2016, 10:06:00 PM »
Well there will be some folks chime in who know way more than me, but how long are you're arrows? The shorter they are cut the more that changes spine. I think your spine size is right as long as the arrows aren't too short. You may try a 175 gr or even a 200 gr tip and see if that helps. Also if you're plucking the string when you release that could be some of it too.

Offline H.D. Luers

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2016, 10:14:00 PM »
I appreciate any help. Thanks for responding. 28" on the arrows. I'll pay closer attention to my release and see. Thank you.

Online Longtoke

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2016, 10:18:00 PM »
Many variables to consider, charts lead me to theory craft that would need cut 600 spine or full 500 spine for my new bow, ended up actually needing cut down 400 spine