3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Oklahoma public hunting.  (Read 656 times)

Offline EwokArcher

• Trad Bowhunter
Oklahoma public hunting.
« on: September 16, 2016, 11:36:00 AM »
I live in okc and this will be my second year hunting. No success last year I hunted the crowded areas around okc, mainly thunderbird which had massive pressure and most of the dear were nocturnal.
I am wanting to get away from the city this year to try to see a little more wildlife. I'm mainly looking for freezer meat, not a trophy.
I have a awesome wife that is wanting to go with me this year so I think I'll be hunting out of a blind. I'm still learning so am open to any comments or suggestions. I have had several people recommend packsaddle wma to me and am thinking about making a weekend camping trip there opening weekend(2.5 hours away). I appreciate the feedback guys. We will be hunting with the trad recurves I made this past year!
Ty

Offline Schmidty3

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Oklahoma public hunting.
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2016, 12:22:00 PM »
There's good places all around. The key is putting in the time to find the best spot on that WMA!

Use google maps and aerial scout a few of the wma's and pick one or two out. Mark likely funnels, features and creeks etc... Then go walk it. And do it as soon as possible.

I've spent every Saturday for the past month scouting out my selected area this year. Walking 10-15 miles a day. Making mental notes on trails and likely hunter traffic, marking trails and funnels on my phone on google maps. I've even hung a few game cameras.

Every WMA has pros and cons. You just have to "GO"!!!! Only way to learn is to be out there.

Offline DaveT1963

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2016, 12:56:00 PM »