3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: longbow carriers  (Read 426 times)

Offline Angus

• Trad Bowhunter
longbow carriers
« on: September 25, 2016, 05:08:00 PM »
Folks, at 68 yrs old, I find I need trekking poles while crossing streams, boulder fields and the like.  Have any of you found a solution to carrying your bows in some sort of carrier which attaches to a day pack?  I have a Nimrod lumbar pack, and would really like to not have to hold my bow in one hand and a pole in the other.  Any thoughts?
Traditional Bowhunters of Washington

Offline tomsm44

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: longbow carriers
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2016, 06:02:00 PM »
No experience with what you're asking about, but have you thought about attaching your bow to your trekking pole handle?   Just tie it or bungee it and it's right there when you need it, plus you can watch it more easily to avoid hanging it on brush.
Matt Toms

Flatwoods Custom R/D:  64", 47@28
'66 Kodiak: 60", 55@28
Redwing Hunter:  58", 53@28
Ben Pearson 709 Hunter:  58", 47@28
Ben Pearson 709 Hunter:  58", 42@28
Hoots Recurve:  56", 42@28

Online Hawkeye

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2016, 06:33:00 PM »
May not be what you are thinking, but I use one walking stick.... or two... due to long-term medical problems.  When I am not feeling well and need to use two, I carry my bow with the Bow Tote, an excellent and adjustable strap system that works with recurves or longbows.

Bowtote.com is a Trad Gang sponsor, and they make a fine, simple, and effective product.  I am glad I have it!
Daryl Harding
"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain that which he cannot lose."  Jim Elliot

Traditional bowhunting is often a game of seconds... and inches!

Offline bucknut