3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Thank you to Craig Ekin  (Read 894 times)

Offline Learner

• Trad Bowhunter
Thank you to Craig Ekin
« on: October 04, 2016, 10:08:00 PM »
Hello all:

This is my first post on Trad Gang.

I'm new to trad archery, starting off with a 40 lb. Cabelas "Warden" recurve in June of this year.

As I've been learning, I have been also reading quite a bit.  One of the books I read quite recently was Craig Ekin's book "Howard Hill, the Man and the Legend".

About a week after finishing this book, I found that I had an assignment the next week in Hamilton, MT.  It then occured to me that Hamilton was the very town where Craig runs his shop "Howard Hill Archery". Incredible.

In over 25 years of doing equipment repair all over this  country, I can't ever remember doing any work in Montana, never mind Hamilton!  So this was a huge, timely blessing for me, especially since I had already set my goal to start saving for an HH longbow.

So I called Howard Hill Archery, telling them I'd be in town, and asking if I could visit to tryout their different grip sizes and styles, including their takedown models.  

Craig welcomed me in twice the week that I was there, and graciously answered all of my questions.  I purchased a copy of his aforementioned book, which he kindly autographed for me.  He also asked me if I'd like to see their shop, which of course I did.

At this point I'm hoping to one day purchase a Wesley Special takedown from Craig.  Honestly, even with smallish hands, both the small and large takedown grips feel good to me, with maybe a slight preference for the large version.

I've attached a parting shot of the Bitterroot range which I took on the way out of town.

Best wishes,
Frank