3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Need advice or encouragement  (Read 810 times)

Offline tradrookie93

• Trad Bowhunter
Need advice or encouragement
« on: October 20, 2016, 01:22:00 AM »
Season starts Saturday and I have a problem. For months now I've been drilling my 3D target out to 25yds with a few "off days" here and there. Yesterday and today I can't shoot for crap. My bow and arrows are in tune so I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. This is my first year with traditional equipment and my confidence just dropped. I was going to take the next two days off from practice and just go Saturday. What do you think? The other option is my compound.  Thanks in advance.

Offline Schmidty3

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Need advice or encouragement
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2016, 01:27:00 AM »
I'd try shooting one arrow at a time. Maybe try stump shooting. Roam around. When you spot something that catches you're eye in a soft looking spot, shoot at it.

Hunt closer if you need to. I've got a stand that consistently produces 5-10 yard shots. Its hard to get a shot off that close but doable.

Offline Msturm

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2016, 02:56:00 AM »
After a rough day I like to start the next one at a slam dunk distance. like 10 or 12 yards. I shoot one arrow at a time from several different angles at the short distance.  Then I back up. If I am off at a longer distance at least i know anything within 30 feet of me is going on the table. I also end with some close shots, sitting, kneeling, shooting around a tree. standard form etc. just to end on a good note.  

Get up early saturday and kill a big deer. That will boost your confidence like no other!

Msturm
Stalker Coyote FXT Long bow 49#

Aloha!

Offline Cyclic-Rivers