3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Switching from compound to recurve.  (Read 1160 times)

Offline Ram_n_arrows

• Trad Bowhunter
Switching from compound to recurve.
« on: November 14, 2016, 05:20:00 PM »
Hello guys, I am new to traditional archery as it peaks my interest.
I am currently shooting a 70lb Mathews halon and want to buy a bear grizzly as my first recurve.
This bow speaks history and is something I can't stop thinking about

Now I am a strong 22 year old. I stand 5'7" and weigh about 165lbs.  I recently bought the (heavy) bow fit training tubes knowing that recurve so you hold back way more weight than a compound. I have the tubes as heavy as they get and can hold it at full draw for a good 30 seconds without creeping.

My draw length on a compound is 27", and when measure for a recurve it is more like 26-26.5.   I want to be hunting deer with it next archery season and want to be around 50lbs at my draw length. I'm torn between the 55lb and the 50.  Can anyone share some tips with me?   I realize that at my draw length, both bows will most likely pull under 50lbs. Thanks for any help!

Offline wingnut

• SPONSOR
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Switching from compound to recurve.
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2016, 05:29:00 PM »
Go with the lighter bow.  It's plenty for deer and you'll handle it better while learning the new shooting method.  It is actually a pretty easy transition if you use your current shooting form and just put a recurve in your hand and a shooting glove on the other.  Everything else is pretty much the same.  Your draw should be about the same once you get used to the weight.

Good luck and welcome to the world of trad.

Mike
Mike Westvang

Offline A.S.

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2016, 05:30:00 PM »