3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: AMO Bow Length  (Read 616 times)

Offline LBR

• Trad Bowhunter
AMO Bow Length
« on: December 02, 2016, 03:47:00 AM »
First off, I'm not a bowyer. Never claimed to be, don't want to be. I've made exactly one selfbow in my life so far, and that was with a lot of adult supervision. That may be the only one. It didn't break, so I may quit while I'm ahead.

I am, however, a string enthusiast (or, as my friends put it, "string nerd"). I'm a bit OCD about it. I've been studying strings and string materials for 20 years or so, and have developed a pretty reliable network for information when I run across a question I can't answer, including some of the world's best traditional bow hunters, target archers, coaches, and the world's top bowstring manufacturer. I quit counting the number of strings I've personally built at 10,000 several years ago. Probably closer to 20,000 now, but point being you can't help but learn something after that many strings.

On to the topic.

Back when I got into this stuff, some 20 or so years ago, one of the first "rules" I ever heard about string length was "3 inches shorter for longbow, 4 inches shorter for recurves". I found out through trial and error that this rule was right on the money...sometimes. Other times, it missed by a mile.

Along comes the www and personal computers, and websites and message boards for the traditional archer. Whoo-hooo!! My prayers had been answered! Well, not really...I found out that pretty much everyone else was just as in the dark as I was. A certain string length might or might not fit a particular bow. Why wasn't there a standard???