3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Pack system for western hunting?  (Read 2802 times)

Offline Ky longbow

• Trad Bowhunter
Pack system for western hunting?
« on: January 18, 2017, 02:17:00 PM »
I've been planning on taking a trip out west to hunt elk within the next few years and am currently looking at a pack system to use. Ideally it will be a 5-7 day hunt. I've narrowed it down to a Kifaru Mountain warrior with hunting frame or an Exo mountain gear 3500 or 5500. Price is a factor as I am new to this style of hunting but want the most reliable and durable pack I can afford. I am open to any suggestions you guys may have, Thanks!

Offline Stickbow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Pack system for western hunting?
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2017, 02:22:00 PM »
I bought the Exo 5500 last year. Between workouts and hunts I have probably about 70 miles with it on in rough terrain. Heaviest I have had it was 75#. I am happy with mine

Offline Biathlonman

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2017, 02:34:00 PM »
Come see me in Georgetown, I think I can help.

I would suggest you don't need the latest and greatest.  A marine corp. ILBE or older Kifaru could suit you well.

Offline Ky longbow

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2017, 02:58:00 PM »
Biathlonman, That would be awesome. I go to school at UK so I am close by. Would you be free this Sunday afternoon?

Offline kevsuperg

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2017, 03:56:00 PM »
This was my first year elk / mountain hunting since moving from the flatlands of  NYS to Idaho.
 I bought an erblestock just one pack.
 Really like it, fully adjustable, probably more room than I need. Hardly knew I was wearing it most days.