3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Scouting and hunting public land. I don't know how!  (Read 1134 times)

Offline swampcrawler

• Trad Bowhunter
Scouting and hunting public land. I don't know how!
« on: January 22, 2017, 11:28:00 AM »
First, I apologize for my the long post. I'm bad about using three words where one would suffice. Generally I'd like to start a nice healthy thread for tips, experiences, etc on scouting public lands or large parcels of land. I, and I'm sure others, could surely use anything you experienced guys could share!

So, sadly the season is now more or less over for most of us, and it's time to start preparing for the next! As most of you guys know, I'm new to traditional bows and bow hunting in general. I never did the compound thing, but have hunted all my life.

But, at the ripe old age of 24, I have finally figured out that I know practically nothing about the art of hunting. See, I'm from Louisiana and grew up hunting like most everyone here does. Join a lease or get permissions for tiny patches of private land, drag ladder stand 100 yards from the road, strap it to tree, clear shooting lane, install corn feeder, and proceed to sit there every day till something happens upon you. That's Not to say that I have any issue with those who hunt this way, but as my circumstances have evolved, I find myself to now be a public land hunter. And wow, what a change.

For the last several years I've sort of half heartedly hunted these places, mostly the Pearl River and Sandy Hollow WMA for those of you who know the area. And I honestly have no clue what to do with these massive tracts of land!