3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Wood arrow cresting  (Read 1839 times)

Online Captain*Kirk

• Trad Bowhunter
Wood arrow cresting
« on: March 06, 2017, 01:46:00 PM »
For those of you who cap-dip or crest your woodies...what can you recommend as cresting paints?
There are so many brands, types and prices that my head is swimming. I am totally new to arrow cresting so any advice is most welcome!
I had heard from some that for small areas and detailed lines Testor's model paints work very well for very little investment, but I'm unsure if they are compatible with other manufacturer's cap dip paints. While all manufacturer's products seem to be compatible within the product line (e.g. Bohning) they are way more expensive and buying half a dozen colors looks like it could run nearly as much as a dozen fletched arrows. Not trying to "cheap out" here, but want to be as economically prudent as possible as I'm only building arrows for my own shooting and enjoyment. Thanks in advance!
Aim small,miss small

Offline SC Bowhunter

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Wood arrow cresting
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2017, 02:44:00 PM »
Kirk,
I don't dip mine but spray them with an airbrush and water-based airbrush paint. I then crest with Testor's enamel and dip clear with Minwax polycrylic and fletch with Duco.
I have no problems with interaction, you just have to make sure each step is completely dry before you go on to the next.
Compton Traditional Bowhunters
PBS Associate Member
Pope & Young General Member
NRA Life Member

Online M60gunner

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2017, 02:56:00 PM »