3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Wood arrow tuning...can this be right??  (Read 689 times)

Offline flyflinger

• Trad Bowhunter
Wood arrow tuning...can this be right??
« on: March 07, 2017, 06:39:00 AM »
A question for the wood arrow guys. I bought a test pack (actually 2) from Surewood. I have shot spines from 45-75, hence the 2 test packs. The best paper tuning I get is from a 70-75# spined arrow cut to 28.5" bop, 125gr head.
My set up is a Java Man recurve 49#@28" (drawing 28") not center cut.
This is my first attempt at wood arrows so forgive me if this is a dumb question. But does this sound like a reasonable spine weight for this poundage of bow?
I tried lighter spines and cut them as short as possible and couldn't get good flight. Don't really want to drop to a lighter head just to use a lighter spine.
Thanks for any input. Just wanted to make sure I wasn't somehow totally off base before taking the time to make up a batch of arrows.

Offline Sam McMichael

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Wood arrow tuning...can this be right??
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2017, 08:20:00 AM »
Sounds a bit heavy for me. I shoot 125 or 145 grain points on almost all my arrows. The complication for me is that I have a short draw, (only 25"), but like long arrows. For example, I have 2 NM Sheltons, both 53# at 28" draw. My arrows are 50 - 55# spine, at 29" length, for both these bows. These arrows also work on my 50# Big Five and my 55# Cheetah. Also, 55 - 60# works on the Sheltons and Cheetah as well.

The only bows I have that likes 70 - 75# spine are my HHA Wesley Specials with 190 grain points. They are 65# at 28" draw.