3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Turkey without a blind  (Read 812 times)

Offline perry f.

• Trad Bowhunter
Turkey without a blind
« on: April 08, 2017, 10:11:00 PM »
Any tips on turkey setup without the use of a pop up blind. I believe this year I leave the smoke pole at the house. Looking for tips to draw them in close and get drawn without a blind. Thanks

Offline RJonesRCRV

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Turkey without a blind
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2017, 10:58:00 PM »
Im no expert, and have not killed one with a bow.

Last year, I had three jakes come by to my left, when Im shooting right handed.  I was sitting on a gentle hill side, so turning that direction caused my bottom limb to poke into the ground.  I had to get up to a kneeling position, which just scared them a bit more.  I was able to draw but they were over a slight rise so I didnt feel comfortable with the shot.

Try to sit so a natural funnel will push them through your comfortable shooting direction so you can avoid moving into a different position.  Obviously easier said than done when turkeys will do their own thing, but keep it in mind when you set up.
Kimsha Mattawoman II 51#
Dale Phillips Nodebow 58#
Kimsha 'Boo Bow 56#
USMC 2005-2010

Online Steelhead

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2017, 04:02:00 AM »
You dont see many turkeys killed without a blind with a trad bow.From a ground blind its not that big a deal because their fairly stupid about ground blinds.Just need to make the shot when ones setup for the kill.Not saying that's easy.But the ground blind is the turkeys acchilles heal