3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Short draw hunting setup question  (Read 498 times)

Offline Autumn Sunrise

• Trad Bowhunter
Short draw hunting setup question
« on: June 25, 2017, 10:51:00 PM »
Hi all. I am not the most seasoned traditional bowhunter.  I've been doing this for 3 years now and have a hog and a whitetail buck to my credit.  I'm hoping the more experienced here can help me out.
Right now I shoot a 60lb Kodiak Magnum-at my 25" drawlength I'm guessing that's 50-52lbs.
I made up some high weight, high foc arrows- 630grains, 27.5% FOC.  They fly great, couldn't ask for better flight. Then I shot a 3d course and got served a slice of humble pie.  Talk about arc-goodness!
My question is this- do I, as primarily a deer hunter, need this kind of arrow?  Range estimation is super critical with these feather rocks.  I do have another arrow setup, 530 grains, that also works well.  I'm starting to think that extra 100 grains ain't worth the hassle.

Offline dbd870

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Short draw hunting setup question
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2017, 07:19:00 AM »
530gr is plenty to kill a whitetail. Hit well and you'll collect your deer. That is still a heavier set up than more than one of use is using. I'm drawing 45# with a 487gr arrow. There is a thread on here about deer taken with 40-45# bows; it went many pages.
SWA Spyder

Offline Mint

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2017, 08:57:00 AM »
I shoot a 47lb Palmer recurve at my 26" draw and hunt with arrows ranging from 480 grains thru 530 grains and have never had a problem with penetration on deer and hogs. I use big broad heads too like the Palmer Extreme Cut, snuffers and 4 blade Muzzy phantoms.