3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Arrow building supplies and advice  (Read 379 times)

Offline gatradbow

• Trad Bowhunter
Arrow building supplies and advice
« on: July 17, 2017, 06:51:00 PM »
This is my first post here but I've been shooting a tradbow for about 4 years. Up until now I've just bought arrows already cut and fletched. I'd like to get into building and tuning arrows from bare shafts. Any advice on specific equipment and brands that I would need to cut, fletch, glue inserts etc would be appreciated. Also, I'm currently shooting a Big Jim Thunderchild  54in 50#@28. My draw length is 25 inches so I estimate I'm actually pulling somewhere in the low 40 lb range. I'm currently shooting 520 grain total arrow weight but would like to get to around 650. Thanks for the help!

Offline Orion

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
  • Contributing Member
Re: Arrow building supplies and advice
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2017, 07:53:00 PM »
I'm assuming you're planning on shooting carbons.  All you need for them is an arrow cut off saw.  Can pick one up cheap at Harbor Freight. Will need some hot melt glue for the inserts and an alcohol burner and a fletching jig.  I recommend a Bitzenberger jig.

Why do you want such a heavy arrow?  520 is already 13 grains of arrow weight per pound of bow weight.  That yields a pretty good parabola when shooting. A 650 grain arrow will be more than 16 grains per pound of bow weight.  No way around it, that will be slower than molasses.  520 is great plenty for deer.

Offline gatradbow

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2017, 08:17:00 PM »
Thanks! Will take your advice on the arrow weight.

Offline Possum Head

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2017, 08:24:00 PM »