3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Overwhelmed choosing an arrow....I need HELP!!!  (Read 677 times)

Offline AZ_Shooter

• Trad Bowhunter
Overwhelmed choosing an arrow....I need HELP!!!
« on: July 18, 2017, 12:01:00 AM »
I am completely overwhelmed by the large number of choices when it comes to arrows, and I need some help either validating that my choice is a good starting point or suggestions for correction.  

I am new to shooting trad, and I currently have a Maddog Follower Extreme longbow that is rated #46 at 31", and I am pulling to 30.5".  As near as I can measure the bow is cut to +3/32" of center.  My plan is to shoot a carbon arrow with a heavy 2-bladed broadhead, and to pursue turkey and deer.  From what I can tell a 500 at 32" with a 150 gr. head or a 400 at 32" with a 200 gr. head will be spined pretty close to what I need.

Am I close?  What brand arrow do you recommend?

Thanks all!

Re: Overwhelmed choosing an arrow....I need HELP!!!
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2017, 12:54:00 AM »
Welcome Jesse!
Don't worry...it is not rocket science but you need to pay attention to the details!

MadDog bows are a good choice! Arrow brands really don't matter as far as spine requirements are concerned.

Offline Michael Arnette

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2017, 12:58:00 AM »
I would try 400, if it's too stiff you can always add weight. I've shot gold tips for years and I've been very happy with them but there are some excellent shafting materials available.

Offline Alexander Traditional

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2017, 03:51:00 AM »