3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Bow speed  (Read 1442 times)

Offline madmaxthc

• Trad Bowhunter
Bow speed
« on: August 19, 2017, 04:22:00 PM »
Hi, Tradgangers,

I have a quick question regarding traditional bows speed.

I've always made my own Flemish strings, and when I was a beginner (years ago, before I started bowhunting), I got about 80ft/s out of my recurve bow. I later realized I wasn't twisting the threads properly, and the string was stretching easily. Ever since I changed my ways, but never measured the speed again. I did it today (same bow), and got 154ft/s, shooting 54# @ 29', with a ~600gr arrow. I was wondering though where this would sit as a hunting recurve, i.e. would you consider it a fast/average/below average bow? Just curious, since I've mostly heard compounders talking about speed, rather than traditional archers.

Cheers  :)
Max
Life is short, play hard

Offline Ari_Bonn

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Bow speed
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2017, 04:36:00 PM »
Perhaps a tad slow but still perfectly good for hunting.

Online Jim Wright

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2017, 05:07:00 PM »
If you are shooting 600 gr. arrows through a recurve that's 54 lbs. at your 29" draw, that would be pretty slow. And if I understand you correctly it's hard to imagine that you have a change of 16 f.p.s. from the way the string is twisted or stretches.

Offline madmaxthc

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2017, 05:33:00 PM »
Thank you,