3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Colorado raghorn down  (Read 1160 times)

Offline LongbowArchitect

• Trad Bowhunter
Colorado raghorn down
« on: September 15, 2017, 02:58:00 PM »
Just got back from my annual bowhunt to a wilderness area that I've been hunting for 20+ years. My son couldn't make it this year due to a business committment but my son-in-law joined me again. We got a late start because he is never ready on-time but we made it to the trailhead by late afternoon. It took us about 2-1/2 hours to hike the 5 miles into our base camp and we were hit hard with rain most of the way. As we set up camp it was starting to get dark and the rain let up. Bulls started bugling in 3 different directions. It bode well for our morning hunt. As I was putting in my last tent stake I heard splashing from the creek 10 yards from camp. I thought my son-in-law was getting water for us to filter for dinner. I looked toward the creek and saw a fairly large black bear running up the trail toward my tent and me. He was looking down creek and not towards me as he ran. My heart jumped as he ran straight toward me. When he got to about 2 feet from my tent he finally saw it and me and took off like a shot through our camp and beyond. I yelled "bear" to my son-in-law who had a bear tag. He grabbed his bow and ran after the bear, only to see his rear end as he disappeared into the woods.