3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: 2017 Wyoming Pronghorn  (Read 2115 times)

2017 Wyoming Pronghorn
« on: September 18, 2017, 07:22:00 PM »
March 2017:  The West Virginia Bowhunters Association has an annual awards banquet and bi-annually, give away a hunt. It’s called the 500 club drawing. Any member who scores 500 at one of our shoots is given a certificate. Five of those certificates will give you one chance in the 500 club bi-annual drawing for a hunt. I’ve been hording the darn things  for about 30 years and had 30 certificates so that gave me six chances in the drawing.

The hunt this year was a pronghorn hunt on the Robinson Ranch,  a.k.a., Pronghorn Ranch, north of Douglas, WY.  A lot of WVBA members have hunted this ranch over the past several years and the owner, Jay Butler had graciously donated this hunt to us.

This particular hunt peaked my interest as I’d hunted a ranch that bordered it, the LaBar Ranch, back in 1989, and thought it would be great to go again.   This would be a four day and five night hunt with accommodations and assistance from the ranch personnel.

J.W., my oldest son, attended this year’s banquet and at about 8 p.m. my home phone rang; it was J.W. He said, “Dad, you just won a pronghorn hunt in Wyoming.” GOOD FOR ME! Now all I had to do was apply for my license and get there.

It’s been 28 years since I’ve hunted pronghorns. I really enjoyed the few times I’ve hunted them. The country is so different and this eastern hardwoods guy just likes being where pronghorns and mule deer live.

Gee Whiz! Who is that kid.