3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: I Let Her Walk...  (Read 1137 times)

Offline DDawg

• Trad Bowhunter
I Let Her Walk...
« on: September 19, 2017, 08:38:00 AM »
I hunt with a Holm Made River Runner recurve at 45#.
I practice off my 12ft porch at 20yds.
I am in my 3rd year of trad hunting, and my general rule is no shots over 20 yds.
I had a doe this Saturday morning broadside right at 30yds. Except for the range I was in the perfect shot situation, but decided it wasn't worth the risk of wounding the animal.
Is a 30 yard shot feasible with a #45 recurve?
Chuck Norris had a Grizzly Bear rug in his room...The Bear wasn't dead,  just to afraid to move...
PBS Associate Member
60" , 45# Holm-Made River Runner

Re: I Let Her Walk...
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2017, 08:45:00 AM »
It is feasible, but no way am I taking a 30yd shot at a deer! Closer is almost always better, and a lot can happen to make he outcome bad atnlong distances. I think you did the right thing.

Bisch

Online Roy from Pa

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2017, 08:54:00 AM »
Yes it possible, but I would never take a 30 yard shot at a deer.
You did well.  ^5

Offline Eric Krewson

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2017, 09:05:00 AM »
I have won more traditional archery tournaments than I can remember back in the day, I wouldn't take a 30 yard shot at a deer.

When I first started bow hunting in the early 70s I took a 40 yard shot off the ground at a deer that was looking at me. Before my arrow got there the deer took 4 or 5 rapid steps. My arrow only hit the air where the deer was once standing. This taught me a lesson on taking long shots.

Online The Whittler

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter