3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Traditional bowhunting and scent control  (Read 454 times)

Offline MIBIGHNTR

• Trad Bowhunter
Traditional bowhunting and scent control
« on: October 10, 2017, 10:57:00 PM »
I am new to the traditional bowhunting world but this will be my 36th season bowhunting.  In the past, I have been fanatical about my scent control.  I am curious about all of the leather associated with traditional bowhunting and if you have personal experiences with getting winded more or if it doesn't seem to alarm the deer??

Please refrain from all the "hunt the wind" comments, etc....  I am not new to bowhunting and spend a lot of time on stand for basic tips.

THANKS so much!!

Offline YosemiteSam

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Traditional bowhunting and scent control
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2017, 12:41:00 PM »
I don't think they mind leather.  But they may not be too enthusiastic about whips and chains.

Sorry -- that was low-hanging fruit.

Folks have been hunting in leather longer than we've been hunting.  If it was a deal-breaker, we wouldn't have survived long enough to be here at all.  It may or may not be the most effective but, then again, neither is a stickbow.
"A good hunter...that's somebody the animals COME to."
"Every animal knows way more than you do." -- by a Koyukon hunter, as quoted by R. Nelson.

Online TIM B

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2017, 01:00:00 PM »
It prolly ain't the leather smell that alarms them
Tim B

Offline Sam McMichael

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2017, 03:26:00 PM »