3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Bear Alaskan Bow  (Read 1563 times)

Offline spacebarcowboy

• Trad Bowhunter
Bear Alaskan Bow
« on: October 11, 2017, 11:23:00 AM »
Hey tradgang!

I saw a guy near me is selling a 55# 62" Bear Alaskan bow for $50. I have not seen it but he says it is in good shape and he says he bought it 2nd hand in the early 60's and hunted with a few years and that it has hung in his closet since then.

I was trying to look at information about the Alaskan online and I did not really find much info other than it seems less desirable than some of the other bear models of the time. I was just looking to get opinions about the Alaskan. I am pretty new to archery, and the bow is a little heavy for me...I usually shoot a 40# bow, but I thought if it seemed like a good deal I would buy it. Also, I assume that as long as it doesnt have anything visibly wrong (cracks, twists) it should be safe to shoot.

Thanks for any opinions! (My first post to tradgang...)

Offline slowbowjoe

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Bear Alaskan Bow
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2017, 02:27:00 PM »
Spacebar, I asked the same question a month or so ago here, and on another forum - didn't get a lot of feedback, but a couple of folks said it shot pretty well.
$50 is a really good price, if it's in shootable condition.
Important to consider is you're talking about jumping up 15lbs of draw weight (more than 30% higher than your usual bow). I'd strongly advise you to NOT get yourself overbowed.

Offline kevsuperg

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2017, 02:39:00 PM »
my first tradbow was a bear Alaskan. 62" 50@28" lemon yellow limbs.
 I took two deer with that bow, very nice shooter but certainly not the fastest.