3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Birch Bark  (Read 367 times)

Offline Brainbruise

• Trad Bowhunter
Birch Bark
« on: November 06, 2007, 09:31:00 PM »
I am new to this bowsite but have made several bows. One of the bows I made is an osage/sinew static recurve with snakeskin pictured below. I amgoing to make a horse bow with birch bark and was thinking of using pine pitch to glue it to the sinew. For the snakeskin I used hide glue of course. Has anyone used this combination, it makes sense as this was a combination in bark canoes.

Online Pat B

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Birch Bark
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2007, 10:57:00 PM »
Pine pitch is very temp sensitive. I don't think you will be satisfied with the results.  The hide glue should work fine for the birch bark.
   That is a beautiful static recurve. Will you share the dimensions and stats?     Pat
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!
TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline Brainbruise

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2007, 11:15:00 PM »
53" 47@28 The siyahs are a bold 60 degree swoop. She shoots like a dream. My current string, endless loop at 16 strands works great but I will make another at 14 strands to see if I can squeeze out another foot per second. A few pics of the creation

Offline Izzy

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2007, 11:19:00 PM »
Dang your good.Love that bow!

Offline TimZeigler

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2007, 12:54:00 AM »
The Pine pitch that I've used building arrows has become brittle when dry, be careful if your gonna put it on something that will flex.  Also I agree with what was mentioned above, it is very temperature sensitive.  Let us know how you make out.
USMC 1992-2000