3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Arrow Wrap Questions.......  (Read 256 times)

Offline JNewton

• Trad Bowhunter
Arrow Wrap Questions.......
« on: November 24, 2017, 06:41:00 PM »
Hi, Folks!

I have what I'm hoping isn't a needless question here. I'm going to be fletching up some new aluminum 2216s for my Brackenbury bow.

I have never used arrow wraps before. A compound shooting friend of mine uses them, the reflective white type. My 61 yr. old eyes like the visual aspect of seeing the arrow's flight with the white tape on his carbons. But I wonder about a couple of things......

My arrow's diameter is 11/32", or .34375". My arrow's circumference is 1.080, rounded up a tiny amount. I've found some reflective white wraps in, a length I like, in either 1" wide, or 1.25" width. I would get the wider ones, but was wondering, does a person just allow some "over wrap" with arrow wraps, or cut them narrower? I'd think this might make a sort of "lump" the feathers would have to try to follow over.....    :confused:

Can a person also crest these, probably with Testor's enamels, or markers?

What glue works on wraps? My Duco, which works so good on my wood arrows, doesn't work well on my bare aluminum shafts. I've tried to read up as much as I can, but my computer time has been limited. I'm retired, but ringing a bell at a kettle for the Salvation Army til Christmas, and put in some 10+ hr. days doing that job. So, I've had some limited "SEARCH" time. Will my Duco work on the wrap, or ??? Would really like to stick with stuff I can buy at my local hardware store, if possible. Maybe Gorilla Gel Super Glue? Guess I have some time to experiment before huntin' season rolls around next year.....