3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Thought I had my longbow well tuned and quiet.......Not.  (Read 300 times)

Offline A Lex

• Trad Bowhunter
Thought I had my longbow well tuned and quiet.......Not.
« on: December 15, 2017, 01:44:00 AM »
I've been shooting wooden arrows exclusively for the last 8 or 10 years, and get great results and enjoyment shooting them. After using them for this long, I thought I had this wooden arrow tuning thing pretty well sorted out.

Turns out we're never too old to learn something.

Although I don't shoot it as much as my heavy bow, I thought I had my 55# longbow set up and tuned quite well, and I thought it was pretty quiet too.

After getting some curious (to me) bare shaft flight with it a week or so back, I posted about it here on tradgang. Some of the feedback got me thinking about tuning, and strings.

I'd been using my bow manufacturers stock 14 strand D97 strings and they have been good, but on a whim I tried an 18 strand BCY-X string.

Man-oh-man, that new string has made such a big difference. It's now a different bow. The arrows are definately flying better, and the bow is noticeably quieter too. I thought it was pretty quiet before, but now the arrow hitting the hay bale at 20 yards sounds louder than when the arrow is released.

Before, there was the occasional little left/right tail wriggle as the arrow flew downrange (still a tad too weak methinks now), but as they were shooting pretty good holes through paper more often than not, I assumed it was just me with a poor release. The few left or right "fliers" I put down to my much less than perfect form.