3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Game Camera - Best Way to Use Them  (Read 1094 times)

Offline YosemiteSam

• Trad Bowhunter
Game Camera - Best Way to Use Them
« on: January 16, 2018, 06:14:00 PM »
I'm thinking about getting a game camera or two.  I've never used these things before but am thinking I'd like to set them up in different places as a way to scout before the season opens.  There are at least two areas I'd like to check.  One is fairly close to a road while the other is a mile or so off the road.  I have a small laptop that I can take in the field for a day with an SD card reader.  All of the use will be on public land so keeping it hidden (yet still useful) is paramount.  I know of some specific spots that see a fair amount of deer traffic.  But I don't know what time they're there or whether it's a buck or doe (can't shoot does here).  The closest of these locations is an hour away & close to a road.  The furthest is about 2 hours of driving and probably an hour of hiking.

So my main question is what kind of strategy should I be using to survey an area & keep these things hidden?  How many are needed to get a sense of an area?  How often should I be checking them?  What kind of battery life can I expect?
"A good hunter...that's somebody the animals COME to."
"Every animal knows way more than you do." -- by a Koyukon hunter, as quoted by R. Nelson.

Re: Game Camera - Best Way to Use Them
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2018, 06:45:00 PM »
I recommend getting a cheap one and messing with it around the house just to learn what they are capable of. the cheapest one from Walmart ( tasco ) battery life is supposed to be 6 months. takes good pictures.

Online TooManyHobbies

• Trad Bowhunter