3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Thoughts on lighted nocks  (Read 2086 times)

Offline Charlie Lamb

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
Thoughts on lighted nocks
« on: February 27, 2018, 09:26:00 PM »
I'm new to using lighted nocks for hunting. I like the idea a lot and will see how much it helps in hunting situations.

I worry a little about the deer I hunt detecting the lighted nock and "startling" at the shot. I'm going to set up a few arrows with a bright orange nock and put a black fur tracer between it and the fletch... I've got a lot of time on my hands.

Whatcha think?
Hunt Sharp

Charlie

Online Trenton G.

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Thoughts on lighted nocks
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2018, 09:41:00 PM »
After this past year I'm going to start using them. I thought with white nocks I'd be able to see my arrow pretty well, but that wasn't the case. Ended up hitting a buck in the shoulder blade, but I couldn't tell at the shot since it was starting to get dusky.
I don't think that a deer would see the nock and startle any more than with a normal nock, but I could be wrong. Unless you're shooting in really low light, I don't think the lighted nock would stand out a whole lot.

Offline Roadkill

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2018, 09:50:00 PM »
Try them. I find students can see their arrows fly better. Helps them work on their loose. I shot a couple at rabbits-just to see hoe badly I really missed.  
I think those early and late day shadow hits would greatly benefit the archer using them
Cast a long shadow-you may provide shade to someone who needs it.  Semper Fi

« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2018, 09:52:00 PM »