Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: how to get better  (Read 1171 times)

Offline chappy

• Trad Bowhunter
how to get better
« on: March 26, 2007, 11:02:00 AM »
I'm getting decent groups an 10-12 yds, but once I step back a little bit it all seems to fall apart.  Even just back to 15 yds.  I'm a beginner and gradually getting into this, and backed up from 5-12 with relative comfort.  Maybe it's mental, but I just can't get them to group.  Any advice would be appreciated.  Thanks.

Offline dan ferguson

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: how to get better
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2007, 12:04:00 PM »
this might not be the most fun practice but stay close and practice form concentrating on one thing at a time,release,bow hand, etc, then I found by shooting at a vertical line for awhile until I start to hit the vertical, then switching to a hortizal line to get my mind on distance, then switch to some sort of bull that it helps me. I still go back and form shoot and also the lines. I just seems to help me. Might help.

Offline mike g

• Tradbowhunter
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2007, 11:23:00 AM »
chappy....
    Try what I call the Draw back method of practice....
    Start close and take a shot, then move back a little and shoot again, repeat a few times....
    Soon you start learning the differant distances....
    I like doing it untill I'm out to 40-50 yds
You'll learn 10 yds is not much differant than 30. just hold a little higher....
    Do this everyday and sooner than you think your brain will learn the differanr distances....
    Some times when I mess up at a longer yardage I just think to myself, its the same shot, just more space inbetween....
    A lot of it is mental....think to yourself you can do it....
"TGMM Family of the Bow"

Offline Bonebuster

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2007, 07:07:00 AM »