Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Hitting to the left  (Read 1184 times)

Offline Ryan Bahn

• Trad Bowhunter
Hitting to the left
« on: April 20, 2007, 09:27:00 PM »
Hi everyone I'm new,
 I am a right handed shooter, 55# @28" bear longbow shooting heritage 250's at 30" with 5" shield cuts and 150 grain Wensel Woodsmans. I shoot 3 under and my arrows fly good, but they always hit 2-4 inches to the left, up and down they are fine. I can't train my eye/aim to the right. I have tuned somewhat with Adcock's tuning method, can anyone help?

Offline flatlander37

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Hitting to the left
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2007, 02:24:00 AM »
Ryan, I'm still new at this myself, but to me it sounds like your arrows are still too stiff spined and group left according to Adcock's method.  Somebody correct me if I'm wrong.
"Better to be thought a fool, than to open one's mouth and remove all doubt"-Abe Lincoln

Offline Pete Darby

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2007, 09:46:00 AM »
It could be many things.  Stiff arrows, faulty release, cross eye dominance, doing something wrong with the bow arm.  The best thing is to try to get someone knowledgeable to critique your form.  They might spot what you can't see.
Pete Darby

Offline Al Dean

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2007, 06:01:00 PM »
Sometimes I just start shooting to the left and it really frustrates me.  I alway go get a different arrow, cedar alum ect.  If I am shooting it left also, then I am the problem.  If it does not go left then I start adjusting the arrow that was.  It is very difficult to make a proper correction until you know for sure the problem.
TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline Jeremy

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2007, 07:49:00 AM »
Originally posted by Ryan Bahn:
I have tuned somewhat with Adcock's tuning method