Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: What is a good MOA for a recurve?  (Read 2973 times)

Offline Doublegun

• Trad Bowhunter
What is a good MOA for a recurve?
« on: May 28, 2007, 07:40:00 PM »
Getting back into traditional shooting after several years with a wheelie.  When shooting my compound an acceptable MOA was 1" for every 10 yards of distance.  So a 2" group was considered good for 20 yards, a 4" group for 40 yards, etc.  Is the MOA any different for a recurve?  In other words, I started out at 15 yards and am getting pretty good groups.  At what point (consistent group size) can I start moving back?

Offline Claypipe

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: What is a good MOA for a recurve?
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2007, 06:33:00 AM »
Hey Doublegun,  I have just recently started shooting trad as well.  What I did is when I started shooting about 4" groups at 10 yards I switched from shooting groups to shooting 1 arrow at a time.  I shoot 1 from 10, 1 at 15, 1 at 20, etc..  I vary my distance with every shot and I don't set a pattern.  I practice all the way out to 40 yards.  The farthest I would shoot at game right now is 20 but practicing to 40 makes that 20 yard shot seem like a cake walk.  Have a good day and keep 'em in the middle, TMG.
I love animals!  They're delicious!

Offline Double Creek

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2007, 10:58:00 AM »
There are no barebow recurve shooters that can shoot minute of angle out to 20 yds...  The fact that no one has shot a perfect 300 round in the barebow class proves it....

If you can double minute of angle you will win any shoot you enter....

Online Orion

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
  • Contributing Member
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2007, 10:06:00 AM »
That's telling it like it is, Joel.

Offline Doublegun

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2007, 01:34:00 PM »