Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Arrow is falling off the shelf  (Read 1016 times)

Offline RYankFan

• Trad Bowhunter
Arrow is falling off the shelf
« on: June 25, 2007, 06:39:00 PM »
I need some help.  I am new with bow hunting and just invested into a new Long Bow.  about 90% of the arrows I shoot fall off the shelf so I am pulling back the arrow 2 or 3 times before I get a shot off.  This happens even when i cant the bow, and lean forward.  I have some help from a friend who knows what he is doing but it is just frustrating that I need to pull back 3 times before a shot and I really don't want to release the arrow and have it fall off at the wrong time because that could definitely be a problem so please help!

Offline RYankFan

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Arrow is falling off the shelf
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2007, 06:41:00 PM »
and by the way it falls off the shelf to the side not off the back....just to eliminate the factor that some might think the arrows were cut too short

Offline BigRonHuntAlot

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2007, 06:44:00 PM »
You may be pinching the arrow at the nock during draw or not canting the bow enough. Are you drawing slowly and smoothly or struggling to get it back?
>>>-TGMM Family Of The Bow-->

The Moon Gave Us The Bow, The Sun Gave Us The Arrow

Walk Softly and Carry a Big Stick

Offline The Vanilla Gorilla

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2007, 06:49:00 PM »
I had the same problem when I went to a VERY non centershot longbow.

Part of my problem was I was rolling my fingertips during my draw. Just gotta concentrate and make sure you keep your fingers in check and not rolling them. Mine usually rolled when my forearms got tired from shooting.

If you aren't shooting with a tab, give one a shot. When I shot with a glove, I was always having arrows drop off the side, then after switching to a tab, it took cured me of it.