Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: instinctive at long range  (Read 2705 times)

Offline deermaster1

• Trad Bowhunter
instinctive at long range
« on: July 03, 2007, 08:14:00 PM »
i am confused. i am new to instinctive shooting and trad archery. my bow is being made so i havnt shot yet. when shooting instinctivly, does your mind compansate for the drop at longer ranges 35-50 yards, or does the arrow still drop but is verticly on target, just lower? if so, how does a instinctive shooter practice at longer ranges? do you have to use gaps at longer range? please help. thanks!!
"I dont want my country to do anything for me, I want to do everything I can do for my country"~~~Ted Nugent

Offline BLACK WOLF

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: instinctive at long range
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2007, 12:38:00 AM »
If you want to be consistant at long range I would highly suggest you learn a conscious aiming system.

Instinctive aiming accurately at long ranges is EXTREMELY hard to do. Sure you might get a few that hit the bullseye but I have yet to see a true instinctive archer group arrows consistantly at longer distances. There may be a few out there that can do it...but I would bet they are rare.

I personally would suggest you learn how to aim using Split Vision if you still want to aim instinctively at closer distances. Those 2 aiming systems are more alike than the others you could choose from.

Sometimes it may help to first learn Point of Aim to learn your gaps.

I personally have learned Point of Aim, Gap, Split Vision and Instinctive Aiming and can pick and choose which one I will use depending on what the shot calls for.

Ray  ;)

Offline R H Clark

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2007, 02:41:00 AM »
I agree with Ray.Doesn't much matter what you use untill you get out past 30 yards.I gap past 30 yards because point on is about 40 yards for me.

Offline mcgroundstalker

• Trad Bowhunter