Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: what grip works best for you?  (Read 1171 times)

Offline gjw77

• Trad Bowhunter
what grip works best for you?
« on: July 13, 2007, 08:48:00 PM »
I'm fairly new to trad shooting having started about this time last year.I've read that a loose grip is good as it doesn't cause bow torque.And I've read a tight grip is good.I've tried both and the tight grip seems to work better for me.It helps me keep everything on my bow arm locked up(elbow,wrist).Any opinions?
  What do y'all use?
btw,when I was shooting wheelies(with a bow sling)the loose grip worked best.
"Sometimes you get the bear,sometimes the bear gets you."

Offline SOS

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: what grip works best for you?
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2007, 11:15:00 PM »
Are you shooting a longbow or recurve?  I shoot a longbow with a tighter grip - firm but not a death grip - seems to help with any handshock.  Might go a little lighter on a high wrist recurve.  One thing to avoid that a very good archer taught me is that even with a sling, a lot of folks will shoot with a loose grip but will, in actuality, "grab" at the riser at the shot.  He recommended that even with a sling, a complete but light grip would work best for most folks.

Offline Greywolfy/U.P. of Mi

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2007, 11:45:00 PM »
I remember reading about Ishi and his shooting style.  His grip was loose enough to alow the bow to swing away after the shot.

Mine's not that loose but I try to avoid a 'death grip' on it.
"It's not about you." - Opening sentance from Rick Warren's book, 'The Purpose Driven Life'

Offline gjw77

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2007, 08:47:00 AM »
When I say firm I really don,t mean that I try to squeeze blood from it,lol.I guess I would describe it like I was holding a bird or something light enough I don't squeeze it to death but firm enough it doesn't get away either.