Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Deep Grip vs. Fingertip Grip  (Read 1989 times)

Offline ewarshaw

• Trad Bowhunter
Deep Grip vs. Fingertip Grip
« on: August 09, 2007, 12:21:00 AM »
Hey Folks,
I'm pretty new to traditional shooting. I have been shooting with a glove and was using the fingertip grip. Now and then, I'll end up with a deep grip. I have had about equal success with both (which is to say that, so far, I'm lousy either way). I'm doing mostly range shooting, with an occasional stump shooting trip when I feel like ruining my arrows. I plan to hunt deer with my recurve this year (6 1/2 weeks out).
Would you please tell me which you prefer and why? As I try to improve my form, consistency, technique, etc., I think I really need to pick one or the other and stick with it (feel free to tell me if I'm wrong).
I'm shooting a 50# recurve (Bear Grizzly).
Thanks.
Now then, take your weapons, your quiver and your bow, and go out to the field and hunt game for me.
-Genesis 27:3

Offline bm22

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Deep Grip vs. Fingertip Grip
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2007, 12:30:00 AM »
most of the videos and people i have talked to said to shoot with a deep hook, between the first and second joint. however i shoot 3 under with the string on my first joint of the index and middle finger and the tip of my ring finger.
do what you want but as you stated pick one and stick with it.

Offline Artur

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2007, 03:37:00 AM »