Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Longbow Help  (Read 1339 times)

Offline LocDoc

• Trad Bowhunter
Longbow Help
« on: August 10, 2007, 01:49:00 PM »
After about 5 months of shooting a longbow I’m about fed up with it. I knew learning a longbow was going to be hard, but this is starting to border on the impossible. I’ve been shooting a recurve for about 18 years, so I figured the transition to longbow wouldn’t be all that hard. I'm shooting a Bear Montana, 60 lbs, with a 30 inch draw. Also shooting GT 5575’s with 145 grain field tips. The arrows fly great, in fact most of the arrows I have shot through the bow fly well. But I can’t get any consistency. Even at VERY close range. At 20 yards, I spray the bag. Even at 10 feet, I’ll have arrows strike either left or right by up to 6 inches away from the mark. But the crazy part is, when I shoot my recurve (same poundage, same arrows), I’m busting nocks. I’ve tried everything I can think up to improve, but no luck.
Any suggestions before this longbow becomes fire wood?
'Aim small. Miss small.'

Offline vermonster13

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Longbow Help
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2007, 02:23:00 PM »
Hard to say anything not seeing you shoot.
TGMM Family of the Bow
For hunting to have a future, we must invest ourselves in future hunters.

Offline dennis rice

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2007, 02:27:00 PM »
I KNOW WHEN I SHOOT A LONGBOW I HAVE A MUCH FIRMER GRIP THAN WHEN I SHOOT A RECURVE. YOU HAVE TO REALLY MANHANDLE A LONGBOW
william d. rice

Offline dragonheart

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2007, 08:44:00 PM »
PM Sent
Longbows & Short Shots

Offline Artur

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2007, 01:02:00 AM »
Originally posted by dennis rice:
I KNOW WHEN I SHOOT A LONGBOW I HAVE A MUCH FIRMER GRIP THAN WHEN I SHOOT A RECURVE. YOU HAVE TO REALLY MANHANDLE A LONGBOW