Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: What Changed? and Thanks  (Read 846 times)

Offline pointy sticks

• Trad Bowhunter
What Changed? and Thanks
« on: September 10, 2007, 08:55:00 AM »
I have read this Forum on many occasions and have seldom posted here but today I had to. This year I have studied up on and played with;
 my brace height
 nocking point
 arrow spine and length.

I have read up on;
 forum
 release
 instinctive shooting,
 gap shooting
 and picking a spot.

I've been shooting the same longbow for 2 years now and have never really been what I'd call a good shot. Average scores 65-68% at 3D rounds. Don't get me wrong, I'm not a points counter but I do use theses shoots to gauge if I'm improving.

Over the summer I made 6 arrows (cedars) for a shoot one weekend. and have either lost or broken 4. The other two arrows I just can't seem to do wrong with.  I've gone from shooting 65-68% to shooting 75-85% each round. I just can't figure it out. My buddies are getting to the point that they are threatening to steel those 2 arrows. I'm shooting clean rounds (no misses) have on several rounds shot nothing but these 2 arrows.

The shot distance I'm comfortable with has increases greatly from around 15m to 22-25m (m= meter)

I've always believed that the proper arrows could make the difference but I also believe now that it's a total package. bow, arrow, forum, release and relaxation.

I guess what I truly want to say is THANK YOU to ALL. Those of you who have asked question about your own problems that miffed you. For some have been as confused as myself.

Thank you to those of you who have taken the time to read these post, share information, knowledge and helpful tips.

I now feel comfortable that when the time presents itself I will be confident in MY abilities with my longbow to loose that arrow.

WHAT CHANGED? I've read, I've learned and I've applied knowledge and wisdom from those who have learned before me.