Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Help Tuning Broad heads  (Read 953 times)

Offline Junction hunter

• Trad Bowhunter
Help Tuning Broad heads
« on: September 21, 2007, 01:58:00 PM »
I have been tuning broadheads but having trouble with hitting target knock right. Field points were strait in. Played with the brace height went from 8 3/8 to 8 1/4 that fixed the knock right but believe arrow is hitting riser.
I think the arrow is hitting the riser as is it passing by. After the release I can hear something hitting the riser. I don't know if I should go back to 8 3/8" brace height and try to stiffen the arrow or weeken the arrow. They shot well with 125 grain field points, strait into the target (no up/down or left/right).
I am unsure what to do. I'm still a rookie.
Stats:
Martin Dream Catcher 50lbs at 28". Draw length is 28 1/4". Arrows are XX75 2413, 29 1/2" long, 4" feathers. Snuffer broadheads 125 grain.
The arrow still hits in the yellow of target (when form is right) but it is slightly knock right in the target.
HELP.

Offline Molson

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Help Tuning Broad heads
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2007, 04:08:00 PM »
Try a 2018 with 5"-5 1/2" feathers and you should see those Snuffers flyin' like darts.
"The old ways will work in the future, but the new ways have never worked in the past."

Offline vermonster13

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2007, 04:35:00 PM »
If you are hitting where you aim then don't be to concerned with a little nock right so long as you can do it out as far as you'll take a show. A higher brace height will slightly stiffen the arrow.
TGMM Family of the Bow
For hunting to have a future, we must invest ourselves in future hunters.

Offline O.L. Adcock

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2007, 06:15:00 PM »